Evan Wenbo Zhao is a tenured assistant professor at the Institute for Molecules and Materials (IMM) at Radboud University Nijmegen. The group is part of the Magnetic Resonance Research Center. Evan did his postdoctoral research with Prof. Clare P. Grey FRS at the Yusuf Hamied Department of Chemistry University of Cambridge where he co-pioneered a suite of in situ magnetic resonance methods for studying redox flow batteries. He earned his PhD degree in Chemistry with Prof. Clifford Russell Bowers at the University of Florida where he co-discovered the Surface Water Are Magnetized by Parahydrogen (SWAMP) effect. Evan obtained his BEng degree in Materials Science and Engineering from Nanyang Technological University. He has been recognized with several awards and fellowships, including the Future Early Career Award, Experimental Design Award from the UK Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), Graduate School Fellowship from the University of Florida and Alternate Sponsored Fellowship from Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL). 


Educational qualification

2017                   PhD in Chemistry, University of Florida, US

                           Advisor: Prof. Clifford Russell Bowers

2012                   BE in Materials Science and Engineering, First Class Honors, Nanyang Technological                                   University, SG

Professional experience

Since 2021         Assistant Professor (Tenured), Magnetic Resonance Research Center, Institute for                                            Molecules and Materials, Radboud University Nijmegen, NL   

2017-2021          Postdoctoral Research Associate, Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge, UK

                           Advisor: Prof. Clare P. Grey FRS

2014                   Visiting Research Fellow,  Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory, Pacific                                             Northwest National Laboratory, US

2011                   Intern, ExxonMobil, SG

Fellowships and awards
2021 Long-Term Synchrotron Beamline Time, B22, Diamond Light Source, UK

2020 Experimental Design Award (Principal investigator), Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), UK

2020 Materials for the Energy Transition Award (Co-investigator), Cambridge Royce, UK

2019 Futures Early Career Award, Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), UK

2018 Manifest Researcher Exchange Award, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, UK

2016 Martin Vala Award, University of Florida, US

2014 Alternate Sponsored Fellow, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, US

2013 Early Career Physical Chemistry Award, University of Florida, US

2012-2016 Graduate School Fellow, University of Florida, US      

行万里路,读万卷书 (It is better to travel ten thousand miles than to read ten thousand books)